Fancy a Cuppa?: Russ Mugs, ca. 1970s

Mornings are never easy. Like many, I make a beeline for the espresso maker to solicit some of its magic nectar to shake me out of my coma. Without taking this important step, productivity in my office is reduced to staring through my screen interspersed with short bursts of top spinning.

These Russ Berrie and Co. mugs are my fave and just about the only thing I allow myself to collect. Aside from their clean angled graphics and practical means to dispense coffee, I appreciate their random, dated names. For an item possessing overwhelming ubiquity in the 70s and 80s it’s startling how rare these mugs really are. Ripe for a re-release I suspect!

On that note, put the kettle on.

Leave a Reply

